Catalogue description Colonial Office: Straits Settlements Original Correspondence

Search within or browse this series to find specific records of interest.

Date range

Details of CO 273
Reference: CO 273
Title: Colonial Office: Straits Settlements Original Correspondence

This series contains original correspondence relating to the Straits Settlements. The first six volumes consist of miscellaneous reports and correspondence transferred from the India Office to the Colonial Office in 1876.

Date: 1838-1946

Bound volumes arranged chronologically, and from 1863 within the following subject headings: Despatches (letters of the governors), Offices (letters of government departments and other organisations) and Individuals (arranged alphabetically). Each volume with a contents list, or précis of each letter giving name of correspondent, date of letter and subject matter. From 1926 the correspondence is arranged in subject files.

Related material:

For earlier correspondence relating to Labuan see CO 144

For later records relating to Singapore see CO 717

For later records relating to Singapore see CO 953

Held by: The National Archives, Kew
Legal status: Public Record(s)
Language: English
Physical description: 680 files and volumes
Access conditions: Subject to 30 year closure unless otherwise stated
Unpublished finding aids:

For registers to this correspondence after 1867 see CO 426. For registers to 1919 correspondence see CO 786.

Administrative / biographical background:

In 1826 Singapore, Malacca and Penang were united as the Straits Settlements, which were governed by the East India Company. In 1858 control passed from the East India Company to the British government's India Office and in 1867 the Straits Settlements became a crown colony. The Keeling Islands joined the Strait Settlements in 1886, Christmas Island in 1900 and Labuan in 1907. The territory was under Japanese occupation from 1942 to 1945 and under British military administration 1946-1946. In 1946 the Straits Settlements as a single colony were dissolved to form the Malayan Union.

Have you found an error with this catalogue description?

Help with your research

How to look for...