Catalogue description Welsh Circuits including Chester

Details of Division within ASSI
Reference: Division within ASSI
Title: Welsh Circuits including Chester

Records of Welsh assizes, including those for Chester.

Records of the North Wales Division, commonly known as the Chester and North Wales Assize Circuit, up to 1945 are in ASSI 57 - ASSI 67. Records of the South Wales Division, otherwise South Wales Assize Circuit, up to 1945 are in ASSI 71 - ASSI 77. Wales and Chester circuit records from 1945 are in ASSI 78 - ASSI 79, ASSI 83 and ASSI 91

Date: 1694-1971
Related material:

For Cheshire before 1945 see also records of the Prothonotary and Clerk of the Crown of the Palatinate of Chester, Division within CHES

For records relating to Monmouthshire see the Division within ASSI

Separated material:

See also pardons and commissions in ASSI 81

and ASSI 85

Legal status: Public Record(s)
Language: English

Justices of Assize, North Wales Circuit, 1830-1945

Justices of Assize, South Wales Circuit, 1830-1945

Justices of Assize, Wales and Chester Circuit, 1945-1971

Physical description: 23 series
Administrative / biographical background:

Up to 1945, there were two divisions of the Welsh Circuit: the North Wales Division covering Anglesey, Flint, Caernarvon, Merioneth, Chester, Montgomery and Denbigh; and the South Wales Division covering Brecon, Glamorgan, Cardigan, Pembroke, Carmarthen and Radnor.The North and South Wales circuit was established in 1830, replacing the Great Sessions which covered the Welsh counties.

The Wales and Chester circuit was created by order in Council of 9 May 1945 and comprised Anglesey, Flint, Brecon, Glamorgan, Caernarvon, Merioneth, Cardigan, Montgomery, Carmarthen, Pembroke, Chester, Radnor and Denbigh.

Have you found an error with this catalogue description?

Help with your research