Commonwealth Office and Foreign and Commonwealth Office: Southern African Department and predecessors: Registered Files (SAD and CS Series)

Search within

Search or browse this series to find specific records of interest.

Date range (yyyy):

Details of FCO 45
Reference: FCO 45
Title: Commonwealth Office and Foreign and Commonwealth Office: Southern African Department and predecessors: Registered Files (SAD and CS Series)

This series contains the records of Southern Africa Department and the West Indian 'A' and Swaziland Department relating to United Kingdom and Commonwealth relations with Swaziland between January 1967 and October 1968, and from October 1968 records of the Southern African Department dealing with UK relations with Botswana, Lesotho, the Malagasy Republic, Zambia, South Africa and South West Africa, Malawi, Swaziland and Portuguese Africa (Angola, Mozambique, Guinea, Principe and São Tomé).

Date: 1967-1979

By former file reference

Related material:

For records of the Commonwealth Relations Office and Commonwealth Office, East Africa Departments, see:

For earlier Colonial Office and Commonwealth Office records relating to relations with Swaziland see CO 1048

DO 212

DO 213

For records of the Southern African Department see FCO 105

For records of the Central African Department see FCO 106

Held by: The National Archives, Kew
Former reference in its original department: SAD file series
Legal status: Public Record(s)
Language: English

Commonwealth Office, Southern Africa Department, 1966-1968

Commonwealth Office, West Indian A and Swaziland Department, 1967-1968

Foreign and Commonwealth Office, Central and Southern Africa Department, 1969-1979

Foreign and Commonwealth Office, Southern African Department, 1968-1969

Physical description: 2639 file(s)
Access conditions: Open unless otherwise stated
Immediate source of acquisition:

Foreign and Commonwealth Office , from 1999

Accruals: No future accurals expected
Administrative / biographical background:

Relations with Swaziland were managed by the Southern Africa Department of the Commonwealth Office until an internal reorganisation abolished the department and responsibility passed to the West Indian 'A' and Swaziland Department in July 1967.

Swaziland gained independence in the Commonwealth in September 1968, but there was no change in responsibility for relations with Swaziland until the general reorganisation which accompanied the formation of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office in October 1968, when responsibility for Swaziland passed to the Southern African Department.

The department had responsibility for relations with all of Southern Africa (except Rhodesia), and the remaining Portuguese possessions in Africa generally, and Angola and Mozambique particularly. It was replaced in 1969 by the Central and Southern Africa Department.

Sharing will require cookies. Show details

Add a tag

Users have not yet tagged this record
  • You need to sign in to tag records. If you don't have an account please register.


Found an error?

If you find an error with this record description let us know

Fields marked with * are mandatory.

Your details

If you provide your details, we will contact you within 10 working days if we cannot act on your suggestion