Catalogue description Ministry of Power and predecessors and successors: Establishments Division: Correspondence and Papers

Search within or browse this series to find specific records of interest.

Date range

Details of POWE 10
Reference: POWE 10
Title: Ministry of Power and predecessors and successors: Establishments Division: Correspondence and Papers

From 1920 to 1942 these are mainly records of the Establishment Division of the Mines Department and subsequently of the Establishments Division of the Ministries of Fuel and Power and of Power.

Included in the series are records of the Industrial Department of the Home Office concerning the safety and welfare of the mine workers, and certain Board of Trade papers relating to the coal, gas, petroleum and electricity industries, and papers relating to those bodies' structure and functions, and papers covering staffing, pay, trade union matters and to departmental and other committees.

Some later files are also concerned with the post-war reorganisation of the coal, gas, electricity, and iron and steel industries, their relations with various government departments and relevant staff superannuation schemes.

Date: 1887-1973

POWE 10/1-297 are arranged by 13 numbered subjects. POWE 10/298 onwards are arranged by former reference. The 13 numbered subjects of POWE 10/1-297 are:

  • 1. Accounts and Estimates:
  • Departmental Estimates
  • Accounts and Accounting
  • Payment of Fees
  • 2. Board for Mining Examinations (Mining Qualifications Board)
  • 3. Departmental Organisation, Staffing and Functions:
  • General questions
  • Petroleum Organisation
  • Electricity Commission
  • Coal Valuation Boards
  • Regional Coal Organisation
  • 4. Emergency Regulations
  • 5. Gallantry Awards
  • 6. Miners' Welfare Commission
  • Miners' Welfare Fund
  • Miners' Welfare National Scholarship Scheme
  • Miners' Welfare Committee and Commission
  • 7. Mines Inspectorate
  • 8. National Coal Board (prior to nationalisation)
  • 9. Patents: Procedure for Assignment
  • 10. Plans of Abandoned Mines
  • 11. Public Boards, Committees and Commissions.
  • Electricity Commission
  • Departmental and other Committees
  • Committees of Investigation; Coal Act, 1930
  • 12. Safety in Mines Research Board (Safety in Mines Research Establishment)
  • 13. Superannuation

Related material:

For other related records see BX

For files in the EST series produced by the Establishment Division of the Department of Energy, and a few re-registered Ministry of Power establishment files, see EG 10

For files in the E series see HF 6

Separated material:

For re-registered files on establishment matters see FV 35

Held by: The National Archives, Kew
Legal status: Public Record(s)
Language: English
Physical description: 879 file(s)
Access conditions: Subject to 30 year closure unless otherwise stated

Have you found an error with this catalogue description?

Help with your research