Catalogue description Middlesex and County of London Petty and Special Sessions Area of Westminster

This record is held by City of Westminster Archives Centre

Details of WBA 402/WBA 804
Reference: WBA 402/WBA 804
Title: Middlesex and County of London Petty and Special Sessions Area of Westminster

Justices' minute books, register of licences, register of convictions, land tax assessments and court registers

Date: 1825 - 1965
Related material:

See also parish record catalogues


GLRO lists for Savoy and Rolls - see draft list drawer


For St Anne's, c1749-1813, see parish records catalogue for St. James minutes c.1765-96-see p.14 parish record catalogue and 1856-64 see p-32 +kparish record catalogue

Held by: City of Westminster Archives Centre, not available at The National Archives
Language: English

Middlesex Petty and Special Sessions, Area of Westminster

County of London Petty and Special Sessions, Area of Westminster

Physical description: 132 files
Administrative / biographical background:

Until 1888 Petty and Special Sessions in Westminster came under the jurisdiction of Middlesex. Then, in 1889 the administration of these sessions passed to the newly created County of London. Under both authorities the business of Petty Sessions and Special Sessions was carried out locally by magistrates. Westminster was divided into areas roughly based on the civil parishes of St James, St Margaret, St Martin in the Fields, St George Hanover Square, and the Strand division, which seems to cover St Paul Covent Garden, St Clement Danes and St Mary le Strand. From 1959 the Sessions come under the heading of Westminster Division. After the local government reorganization of 1965 the old boroughs of St Marylebone and Paddington are included in the Westminster Division. There are also two registers for the St Marylebone Division before 1965.

Link to NRA Record:

Have you found an error with this catalogue description?

Help with your research