Catalogue description Archdeacons of Gloucester From 1541

This record is held by Gloucestershire Archives

Details of GDR/APPENDIX 4
Reference: GDR/APPENDIX 4
Title: Archdeacons of Gloucester From 1541

Nicholas Wotton (The last Archdeacon of Gloucester when it was an archdeaconry of the diocese of Worcester, and the first after the foundation of the see of Gloucester. 1541


John Williams 1554


Guy Eaton 1559


George Savage 1574


Robert Hill 1602


Samuel Burton 1607


Hugh Robinson Vacant from 1655 to 1660 1634


John Middleton 1660


Edward Pope 1662


John Gregory 1671


Thomas Hyde 1678


Robert Parsons 1702


Nathaniel Lye 1714


William Geekie 1737


Richard Hurd 1767


James Webster 1774


Timothy Stonhouse-Vigor 1804


Thomas Rudge 1814


John Timbrill 1825


Sir George Prevost, bt 1865


John William Sheringham 1881


John Phillips Allcot Bowers (The spelling of his second and third names varies, even in official reference books. This form was used on his archidiaconal seal.) 1902


Edward Chessall Scobell 1903


Walter Hobhouse 1917


Charles Henry Ridsdale 1919


Austin John Hodson 1933


Walter Thomas Wardle 1948

Held by: Gloucestershire Archives, not available at The National Archives
Language: English

Have you found an error with this catalogue description?

Help with your research