Catalogue description Typographical Association

This record is held by Working Class Movement Library

Details of TU/TYPO
Reference: TU/TYPO (click here to view this record in archive's external catalogue)
Title: Typographical Association

Reports and Typographical Circular journal, delegate meeting and National Council reports, rule books, agreements, other papers including handbooks, booklets and register of members and international papers, branch records
Leeds Typographical Society, 1837-1988
London Typographical Society, 1901-1985
Manchester Typographical Society, 1825-1991

Date: 1825-1998

Series 1: reports and Typographical Circular journal, 1877-1990
Series 2: delegate meeting and National Council reports, 1893-1992
Series 3: rule books
Series 4: agreements
Series 5: other papers including handbooks, booklets and register of members and international papers
Series 6: branch records including Birmingham branch, Bradford branch, Grimsby branch, Hull branch, Leicester branch, Liverpool branch, Midlands region, Northern Counties region, North Western region, Nottingham branch, Norwich branch, Oldham branch, Scarborough branch, Scottish Typographical Association, Sheffield branch, Wakefield branch, Watford branch, Watmough Chapel, West Yorkshire branch and Yorkshire region.
Series 7: Leeds Typographical Society, 1837-1988 - Quarterly reports, branch committee minutes, accounts and balance sheets and other papers including scrapbooks, leaflets and correspondence.
Series 8: London Typographical Society, 1901-1985 - Annual reports, conference reports and other papers including agreements, arbitration awards and souvenir booklets
Series 9: Manchester Typographical Society, 1825-1991 - Reports, minute books, rule books and other papers including agreements, souvenir booklets and membership registers

Held by: Working Class Movement Library, not available at The National Archives
Language: English
Physical description: 238 volumes, 7 files, 723 items and 76 photographs
Access conditions:

Open for consultation

Administrative / biographical background:

The Manchester Typographical Society was formed in 1797 and Leeds Typographical Society in 1810. The Provincial Typographical Association was formed in 1849. In 1877 the Provincial Typographical Association changed its name to the Typographical Association. Leeds Typographical Society joined the Typographical Association in 1895 and Manchester Typographical Society joined by 1914. In 1964 the Typographical Association amalgamated with the London Typographical Association to form the National Graphical Association. In 1990 the National Graphical Association amalgamated with the Society of Graphical and Allied Trades 1982 (SOGAT '82) to form the Graphical, Paper and Media Union.

Have you found an error with this catalogue description?

Help with your research