Catalogue description Forfeited Estates Commission: Books

Search within or browse this series to find specific records of interest.

Date range

Details of FEC 2
Reference: FEC 2
Title: Forfeited Estates Commission: Books

This series includes minute books of the Commissioners of the Forfeited Estates, containing minutes and memoranda of proceedings in London, Newcastle upon Tyne and Preston, 1716 to 1726; and rough minute books, 1716 to 1724.

The series also includes registers of claims against the several estates, Nos. 1-1718, containing entries in full of the original claims in FEC 1, and fully indexed, 1716 to 1719; decree books of the commissioners on the claims of various parties upon estates forfeited, 1718 to 1721, with index; register of appeals against decrees of the commissioners, the petitions, numbered 1-22, being entered in full, 1718 to 1721

Also included are registers of the estates given to superstitious uses describing the contents and value thereof, arranged under counties; entry book of informations respecting lands given to superstitious uses, 1716; registers of real estates; reports and decrees of the commissioners, 1716 to 1723; register of claims for losses at Preston, Nos. 1-226, with entries of the claims in full, 1718 to 1722; and entry books of precepts, 1716 to 1723.

Date: 1715-1726
Held by: The National Archives, Kew
Legal status: Public Record(s)
Language: English
Physical description: 126 volume(s)

Have you found an error with this catalogue description?

Help with your research