Catalogue description Colonial Office and predecessors: Mauritius, Original Correspondence

Search within or browse this series to find specific records of interest.

Date range

Details of CO 167
Reference: CO 167
Title: Colonial Office and predecessors: Mauritius, Original Correspondence

This series contains original correspondence relating to Mauritius. Includes records and papers of the Commissioners of Eastern Inquiry, 1826 to 1832. From 1810 to 1814 correspondence concerning Réunion (Ile de Bourbon) is included. From 1887 to 1903 correspondence concerning the Seychelles is included.

Date: 1778-1951

Bound volumes arranged chronologically within the following subject headings: Despatches (letters of the governors), Offices (letters of government departments and other organisations) and Individuals (arranged alphabetically). With some case volumes. Each volume with a contents list, or précis of each letter giving name of correspondent, date of letter and subject matter. From 1926 correspondence is arranged in subject files.

Related material:

For further records of the Commissioner of Eastern Enquiry in Mauritius see CO 415

For later correspondence relating to the Seychelles see CO 530

For later correspondence see CO 1023

Held by: The National Archives, Kew
Legal status: Public Record(s)
Language: English

Colonial Office, 1854-1966

War and Colonial Department, Commissioners of Eastern Enquiry in Mauritius, 1826-1828

Physical description: 960 volume(s)
Access conditions: Subject to 30 year closure unless otherwise stated
Unpublished finding aids:

For registers to this correspondence before 1850 see CO 326, after 1850 see CO 356. For indexed précis of correspondence see CO 714.

Administrative / biographical background:

Mauritius was first settled by the Dutch in 1598, abandoned by them in 1710 and occupied by the French in 1715. In 1721/2 it was placed under the administration of the French East India Company and its name changed to Isle de France. In 1767 it was transferred to the French Crown. It was conquered by the British in 1810. The former name of Mauritius was then restored. It was ceded to Britain in 1814 by the Treaty of Paris. From 1810 to 1903 Mauritius and Seychelles were administered as a single British colony. On 12 March 1968 Mauritius became an independent state within the Commonwealth.

Have you found an error with this catalogue description?

Help with your research

How to look for...