Catalogue description Records of the Countryside Agency and Successors

Details of CA
Reference: CA
Title: Records of the Countryside Agency and Successors

Records of the Countryside Agency, and the Commission for Rural Communities, including Local Heritage Initiative projects database in CA 1 and the Vital Villages dataset in CA 2.

Maps issued under the Countryside and Rights of Way Act 2000; mapping open country and registered common land in England: CA 6.

For series created for regularly archived websites, please see the separate Websites Division.

Date: 1999-2011
Related material:

For later records of Natural England, please see: SW

Held by: The National Archives, Kew
Legal status: Public Record(s)
Language: English

Commission for Rural Communities, 2006-

Countryside Agency, 1999-2006

Physical description: 10 series
Access conditions: Open unless otherwise stated
Administrative / biographical background:

The Countryside Agency was formed in 1999 following the merger of the Rural Development Commission and the Countryside Commission. The new agency brought together for the first time experts dealing with all aspects of the countryside - economic, environmental, community and recreation - into a single national body. Its objective was to conserve and enhance England's countryside, spread social and economic opportunities for the people who live there and to help everyone, wherever they live and whatever their background, to enjoy and share the countryside.

Following the Natural Environment and Rural Communities Act 2006 part of the Countryside Agency merged with English Nature and parts of the Rural Development Service to form Natural England. The remaining part of the Countryside Agency became the Commission for Rural Communities.

Have you found an error with this catalogue description?

Help with your research