Catalogue description Records of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Details of AX
Reference: AX
Title: Records of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Records of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England relating to the review of local government boundaries including internal electoral boundaries.

Policy and proposal files are in AX 1, with further series of registered files in AX 2 to AX 9 and AX 12 and AX 13. Reports are in AX 10 and maps in AX 11.

The dataset, Humberside: study of attitudes and preferences (survey data), is in AX 14.

Date: 1970-1993
Related material:

Records of the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales: DD

Records of revision after July 1992 are in: JT

Records of revision from 1945 to 1950 are in: T 107

Held by: The National Archives, Kew
Legal status: Public Record(s)
Language: English

Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1972-1992

Physical description: 14 series
Access conditions: Subject to 30 year closure unless otherwise stated
Immediate source of acquisition:

from 2006: Office of the Deputy Prime Minister

from 1993: Local Government Commission for England

Custodial history: Surviving records still held by the Commission in 1992 were transferred to the Department of the Environment, and subsequently to the successor departments of that Department.
Administrative / biographical background:

The Local Government Act 1972 provided for new local government arrangements in England and Wales (excluding Greater London and the Isles of Scilly). Section 1 and the First Schedule provided for the constitution of new metropolitan counties and non-metropolitan counties and for districts within the counties. The new metropolitan counties were: Greater Manchester, Merseyside, South Yorkshire, Tyne and Wear, West Midlands, and West Yorkshire. Schedule One designated the geographical areas to be within each new county. The new counties and districts were to come in to existence on 1 April 1974.

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was appointed in November 1972 under Part IV of the same Act. The Act provided for the establishment of separate commissions for England and for Wales to review the electoral arrangements within the new counties, including boundaries, at all administrative levels.

Sections 48 to 52 of the Act required the Commission to review in England (including London) particular local government boundaries at any time and to conduct a general review of all boundaries, including internal electoral boundaries, every ten to fifteen years. Under paragraph 1 of schedule 3 it was required, as soon as practicable after the passing of the Act, to make proposals to the Secretary of State for the division of non-metropolitan counties into districts, for defining the areas of those districts and for naming them. Implementation of the recommended changes was the responsibility of the Secretary of State for the Environment.

The English Commission was abolished in 1992 and replaced by a new Local Government Commission.

Have you found an error with this catalogue description?

Help with your research