Catalogue description Commission for New Towns: Secretariat: Register of Seals (documents sealed)

Search within or browse this series to find specific records of interest.

Date range

Details of FJ 5
Reference: FJ 5
Title: Commission for New Towns: Secretariat: Register of Seals (documents sealed)

This series contains Registers of Seals (i.e. sealing of documents) generated by the Secretariat Department of the Commission for New Towns. The registers usually record this information - document sealed; date of seal; date of order to seal; date of sealing; sealed in the presence of and documents signed by; date of order of cancellation.

Date: 1961-1983
Held by: The National Archives, Kew
Legal status: Public Record(s)
Language: English

Commission for the New Towns, 1961-

Physical description: 45 volume(s)
Access conditions: Open
Immediate source of acquisition:

from 2006 English Partnerships

Selection and destruction information: Records selected by English Partnerships under TNA supervision under section, dealing with the provision of housing in urban areas
Accruals: Series is accruing
Administrative / biographical background:

The Commission for New Towns (CNT) was set up under Part II of the New Towns Act 1959 and was launched in October 1961. It was set up to manage the property of the New Towns and Urban Development Corporations and Housing Action Trusts transferred to it. In 1999 it joined with the Urban Regeneration Agency to form English Partnerships, although it remains a separate legal entity.

Have you found an error with this catalogue description?

Help with your research