Catalogue description Foreign Office: West and Central African Department: Registered Files (J Series)

Search within or browse this series to find specific records of interest.

Date range

Details of FCO 25
Reference: FCO 25
Title: Foreign Office: West and Central African Department: Registered Files (J Series)

This series contains the records of the West and Central Africa department of the Foreign Office between January 1967 and October 1968, dealing with UK relations with the following states in the region: Senegal, Guinea, Congo (Kinshasa), Congo (Brazzaville), Gabon, Chad, Central African Republic, Mauritania, Cameroon, Liberia, Rwanda, Burundi, Angola, Mozambique, Guinea (Bissau), Mali, the Ivory Coast, Dahomey, Niger, Upper Volta, Togo, the Malagasy Republic, Rhodesia (for which the Commonwealth Office retained the lead responsibility), South Africa and South West Africa, Spanish West Africa; and the Organisation of African Unity, and Foreign Office views on Commonwealth Africa generally and particularly Swaziland.

Date: 1967-1968

Former file reference order

Related material:

For further files on Rhodesia see:

FCO 35

FCO 36

Held by: The National Archives, Kew
Former reference in its original department: J file series
Legal status: Public Record(s)
Language: English

Foreign Office, West and Central Africa Department, 1956-1968

Physical description: 786 file(s)
Access conditions: Subject to 30 year closure
Immediate source of acquisition:

In 1998 Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Accruals: No future accruals expected
Administrative / biographical background:

The West and Central Africa Department of the Foreign Office was abolished upon the creation of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, because of the geographical overlap with former Commonwealth Office departments.

Responsibility for relations with Mauritania, Senegal, Guinea, Mali, Upper Volta, the Ivory coast, Togo, Dahomey, Niger, Chad, Cameroon, Gabon, Congo (Brazzaville), the Central African Republic, Spanish and Portuguese Guines and Spanish West Africa passed to the West African Department. Responsibility for relations with the Organisation of African Unity, Rwanda and Burundi passed to the East African Department. Responsibility for relations with Congo (Kinshasa) went to the Central African Department, and the Southern African Department took over relations with South and South West Africa, the Malagasy republic, Angola and Mozambique.

Have you found an error with this catalogue description?

Help with your research