Catalogue description War Office: East Africa Command: Papers

Search within or browse this series to find specific records of interest.

Date range

Details of WO 276
Reference: WO 276
Title: War Office: East Africa Command: Papers

This series consists of papers of the East Africa Command relating to the British administration of East African territories.

The papers comprise headquarters, committee, branch files, operational situation reports, local statements and other miscellaneous papers, including intelligence reports and policy plans. Many of the files concern internal security and the suppression of terrorism.

Date: 1902-1964
Related material:

For other papers relating to the British military administration of African Territories see WO 230

Held by: The National Archives, Kew
Legal status: Public Record(s)
Language: English
Physical description: 545 files and volumes
Access conditions: Subject to 30 year closure unless otherwise stated
Immediate source of acquisition:

From 1978 Ministry of Defence

Administrative / biographical background:

East Africa Command was formed on 15 Sept. 1941 with its headquarters in Nairobi. Until 1947 it was under the direct control of the Army Council and thereafter it became the responsibility of Middle East Command.

The command included the following territories:- British Somaliland, the Reserved Areas, Somalia including the Ogaden, Uganda, Kenya, Tanganyika, Nyasaland, Northern Rhodesia, Zanzibar, Mauritius and the Seycelles.

Following the independence of the majority of these countries in the early 1960s, the command was renamed British Land Forces Kenya in 1963 and finally wound up in 1964.

Have you found an error with this catalogue description?