Catalogue description Northern and North-Eastern Circuits

Details of Division within ASSI
Reference: Division within ASSI
Title: Northern and North-Eastern Circuits

Records of the Northern and North-Eastern Assize circuits from 1606 to 1971.

Pre-1876 records of the Northern circuit and some later ones from the North-Eastern Circuit are in ASSI 41 - ASSI 47. Records of the North-Eastern Circuit from 1876 are in ASSI 87. Records of the Northern Circuit from 1876 are in ASSI 51 - ASSI 55, and ASSI 86

Date: 1605-1971
Related material:

For records for Lancashire before 1873 see Palatinate of Lancaster Division within PL

For records for Durham before 1873 see Palatinate of Durham Division within DURH

Legal status: Public Record(s)
Language: English

Justices of Assize, North-Eastern Circuit, 1876-1971

Justices of Assize, Northern Circuit, 1541-1876

Justices of Assize, Northern Circuit, 1876-1971

Physical description: 15 series
Administrative / biographical background:

Up to 1876, the North Circuit comprised Cumberland, Northumberland, Durham (from 1873), Westmorland and Lancashire (from 1873). Yorkshire was part of the circuit until 1863, when it transferred to the Midland Circuit.

The jurisdiction of the courts held under commissions of assize in the Palatinates of Durham and Lancaster had passed to the High Court of Justice under the Supreme Court of Judicature Act 1873. In 1876 the Northern Circuit was split into the Northern and North-Eastern Circuits.

The Northern Circuit comprised Cumberland, Westmorland and Lancashire.

The North-Eastern circuit comprised Northumberland, Yorkshire and Durham.

Have you found an error with this catalogue description?

Help with your research