Catalogue description Midland Circuit

Details of Division within ASSI
Reference: Division within ASSI
Title: Midland Circuit

Records of the Midland Circuit of the Justices of Assize.

They are in ASSI 11 - ASSI 15, ASSI 80 and ASSI 88

Date: 1606-1971
Legal status: Public Record(s)
Language: English

Justices of Assize, Midland Circuit, 1541-1971

Physical description: 7 series
Administrative / biographical background:

The Midland Circuit up to 1863 comprised Nottinghamshire, Derbyshire, Warwickshire, Lincolnshire, Leicestershire, Northamptonshire and Rutland. By an order in Council of 8 November 1863 Leicestershire, Northamptonshire, and Rutland were transferred to the Norfolk Circuit, and Yorkshire was transferred to the Midland Circuit from the old Northern Circuit.

In 1876 Leicestershire, Northamptonshire, Rutland plus Bedfordshire and Buckinghamshire were transferred back from the former Norfolk Circuit by order in Council. Yorkshire was also transferred to the newly-created North-Eastern Circuit.

Have you found an error with this catalogue description?

Help with your research