Catalogue description Content: Folios 66-70. Letter from Richard Barker senior and James Lamb Barker, Clerks...

Ordering and viewing options

  • Free

  • Download size approximately 3.5 MB. Download format PDF

Details of MH 12/9156/30
Reference: MH 12/9156/30
Content: Folios 66-70. Letter from Richard Barker senior and James Lamb Barker, Clerks to the Tynemouth Poor Law Union, to Edwin Chadwick, Secretary to the Poor Law Commission, with several enclosures. The proceedings of the first meeting of the Board of Guardians of the Tynemouth Union held at the George Tavern, North Shields, on 7 September 1836. Those present were Sir John Walsham, Assistant Poor Law Commissioner, Ex Officio Guardians Henry Mitcalf and John Fenwick. The Guardians were listed as: Tynemouth: John Finley, Cuthbert Laws, Joseph Laing, Solomon Mease, Robert Spence and Henry Dale. North Shields: Thomas Richardson, Joseph Ogilvie Senior, William Brown, John Rennision and William Wardle. Chirton: Michael Robson, George Rippon, John Sadler and John Holdroyd. Monkseaton: [Fenwick Stynesley]. Murton: [no entry]. Whitley: William Crawford. Cullercoats: Robert Brown. Preston: Thomas Fenwick. Earsdon: Henry Storey. Backworth: James Urwin. Burradon: John Moor. Holywell: Roger Stobbs. Newsham and South Blyth: Matthew Gray and James Wright. Hartley: John Jobling and John Gray. Seaton Delaval: John Crawford. Seghill: James Reed. Cramlington: John Smith. Longbenton: Dixon Dixon George Russell, Cuthbert Hunter, Archibold Ronaldson and William Nesbit. Wallsend: William Robert Swan, [Thompson ---], Peter Russell and Jospeh Mordie. Horton: William Anderson. Hartford East: [no entry]. Hartford West: Edward Reay. Cowpen: Edmund Hannay Watts and William Wilson. Bebside: Nicholas Bailey. John Fenwick was appointed Chairman of the Tynemouth Union Board of Guardians and Dixon Dixon, Vice Chairman. The clerk's salary was to be £100 per annum. Richard Barker senior and James Lamb Barker to be appointed joint Clerks to the Tynemouth Union and William Chapman the Treasurer. The Auditor's salary was to be £20 per annum and would be appointed on the 22 September 1836. The union was divided into three districts for distributing poor relief and registering births, marriages and deaths. The districts were: Tynemouth: included Tynemouth, Chriton, Cullercoats, Monkseaton, Murton, North Shields, Preston and Whitley with a population of 24,778. Earsdon: included Earsdon, Backworth, Burradon, Holywell, Hartley, Newsham and South Blyth, Seaton Delaval, Seghill, Bebside, Cowpen, Hartford East, Hartford West, Horton and Cramlington. The population was 9,814. Longbenton: included Longbenton and Wallsend with a population of 12,123. Populations for each township are listed. Relieving officers salaries were given as Tynemouth £100 per annum, Earsdon £90 per annum and Longbenton £90 per annum. Relieving officers were to live in their districts at a place directed by the guardians. The clerk was to place a notice in the Newcastle newspapers that on 22 September 1836 three relieving officers and one collector of rates would be appointed for the Tynemouth Union. A committee of board members was appointed to consider adaptations required to the Tynemouth Union Workhouse to provide classified accommodation for 200 paupers and report back to the board. The committee members were Joseph Laing, Michael Robson, John Rennison, George Russell, Cuthbert Hunter, John Smith, James Wright, John Jobling, Nicholas Bailey. The clerk was instructed to prepare an estimate and order to overseers and churchwardens of the parishes and townships of the union requiring them to pay the treasurer one tenth of their average annual expenditure and whatever sums may be required for the union. The clerk was to obtain from Charles Knight of Ludgate Hill, the account books as directed by the Commission. Weekly board meetings were to be held in the George Tavern, North Shields, at eleven o'clock each Thursday morning. The clerk was to notify every guardian resident in the union. Signed by John Fenwick, Chairman of the Tynemouth Board of Guardians and approved by Sir John Walsham, Assistant Poor Law Commissioner. Annotated: appointments and salaries approved, 10 September 1836. Paper number: 3204/B/1836. Poor Law Union Number 333. Counties: Northumberland.
Date: 8 September 1836
Held by: The National Archives, Kew
Legal status: Public Record(s)
Language: English
Closure status: Open Document, Open Description
Subject image
Image   of {{thumbImages.length}}
Loading image ...

Have you found an error with this catalogue description?

Help with your research