Catalogue description North Devon Magistrates' Courts

This record is held by North Devon Record Office (South West Heritage Trust)

Details of B102
Reference: B102
Title: North Devon Magistrates' Courts

The collection includes records of the Justices of the Boroughs of Barnstaple; Bideford; Great Torrington and South Molton and of the Petty Sessional Divisions of Barnstaple; Bideford; Braunton; Great Torrington; Holsworthy and South Molton.

Related material:

For other Barnstaple court records, see B1 (Borough Quarter Sessions 14-19thc); Barnstaple Castle Collection (Borough Quarter Sessions 19-20thc); 2654 and 3835 (Borough Quarter Sessions, 20thc).


For other Bideford court records, see 46 (Borough Quarter Sessions 19-20thc); 1064 (Borough Quarter Sessions, 17-19thc) and 2379 (Court of Record, 18-19thc).


For other Great Torrington court records, see 2558 (Borough Quarter Sessions, Court of Record and Piepowder Court, 17-19thc).


For other Holsworthy court records, see 178 (Petty Sessional Division, 19-20thc).


For other South Molton court records, see 1190 (Borough Quarter Sessions, 17-18thc) and 2407 (Borough Petty Sessions, 20thc).

Held by: North Devon Record Office (South West Heritage Trust), not available at The National Archives
Language: English

Bideford Borough Magistrates

Bideford Petty Sessional Division

Braunton Petty Sessional Division

Great Torrington Petty Sessional Division

Holsworthy Petty Sessional Division

South Molton Petty Sessional Division

Access conditions:

The records are closed to the public for 30 years from the date of the last entry of each item.

Immediate source of acquisition:

The records were deposited in the North Devon Record Office on 14 February 1989.

  • Barnstaple, Devon
  • Bideford, Devon
  • Braunton, Devon
  • Great Torrington, Devon
  • Holsworthy, Devon
  • South Molton, Devon
  • Administration of justice

Have you found an error with this catalogue description?

Help with your research