Catalogue description WORTLEY Board of Guardians

This record is held by Sheffield City Archives

Details of SY/164/A
Reference: SY/164/A
Title: WORTLEY Board of Guardians
Date: 1838-1929
Related material:

For further records of Wortley Union, 1869-1930, see Sheffield Archives, City Archives (CA)527/1-8

Held by: Sheffield City Archives, not available at The National Archives
Language: English

Board of Guardians of the Wortley Union

Physical description: 49 vols
Access conditions:

Records are open for consultation

Immediate source of acquisition:

On abolition of South Yorkshire County Council on 31 March 1986, the records passed from South Yorkshire County Record Office, by agreement of the four South Yorkshire District Councils, to the custody of Sheffield Archives as lead authority

  • Wortley, Tankersley, West Riding of Yorkshire
  • Social welfare
Administrative / biographical background:

Records of the Board of Guardians of the Wortley Poor Law Union. Formed in 1838, the Union initially comprised the townships of Bradfield, Ecclesfield, Hoylandswaine, Hunshelf, Ingbirchworth, Langsett, Oxspring, Penistone, Tankersley, Thurgoland, Thurlstone and Wortley. On 27 July 1849 the townships of Hoylandswaine, Hunshelf, Ingbirchworth, Langsett, Oxspring, Penistone, Thurgoland and Thurlstone were separated from Wortley Union and joined with Cawthorne, Clayton West, Denby, Gunthwaite, High Hoyland, Kexborough and Silkstone to form Penistone Union. From that date Wortley Union comprised Bradfield, Ecclesfield, Tankersley and Wortley. A workhouse was erected at Grenoside in 1850-1

Have you found an error with this catalogue description?

Help with your research