Catalogue description METHODIST CHURCH: RYE (FORMERLY SUSSEX) CIRCUIT; (Hastings, Bexhill and Rye Circuit)

This record is held by East Sussex Record Office

Details of NMA/4
Reference: NMA/4
Title: METHODIST CHURCH: RYE (FORMERLY SUSSEX) CIRCUIT; (Hastings, Bexhill and Rye Circuit)

NMA/4/1-2 Registers


NMA/4/3 Local Preachers meeting minute books


NMA/4/4 Quarterly meeting minute books


NMA/4/5-7 Stewards Accounts


NMA/4/8-9 Circuit plans and schedules


NMA/4/10 Miscellaneous

Held by: East Sussex Record Office, not available at The National Archives
Language: English

Rye Circuit

Immediate source of acquisition:

Deposited by Rev J S Pyke, Circuit Minister at Rye on 23 Apr 1982 (A2820) and the Supt Minister on 27 July 1987 (A4885)

Administrative / biographical background:

A Sussex circuit covering Rye, Winchelsea, Northiam, Bodiam, Robertsbridge and Ewhurst in East Sussex and Sevenoaks, Newbounds, Rolvenden, Woodchurch, Cranbrook, Staplehurst, Chart, Borough Green and Shoreham in Kent was formed in 1774. By 1794 when the circuit was renamed the Rye circuit, societies from Peasmarsh, Staple Cross, Wadhurst and Rotherfield in Sussex and Southborough, Plaxtol, Knockholt, High Halden, Rucking, Tenterden, Ham Street, and Maidstone in Kent had been added though Robertsbridge, Bodiam and some of the Kent societies had lapsed. By 1815 Beckley, Hurst Green, Ticehurst, Mountfield, Westfield, Brede, Guestling, Sedlescombe, Iden, East Guldeford had been added together with Wittersham, Shadoxhurst, Bethersden, Appledore Mersham, Milkhouse, East-End, Biddenden, Sandhurst, Hawkhurst and Brenzett in Kent. In 1878 the circuit contained societies in Rye, Winchelsea, Beckley, Peasmarsh, Iden, Udimore in East Sussex and Wittersham, Brookland, New Romney, Lydd and Camber in Kent. In 1966 the circuit was merged with the Hastings circuit


Meetings/Societies in the Sussex/Rye Wesleyan Circuit, 1774-1815 (from NMA/4/1/1-2)


Dates are those of lists of members (or of summary lists of societies). Plainly several in the Sevenoaks/Tonbridge/Maidstone area were separated off after 1802. In 1816 the Rye Circuit was divided between Rye and Sandhurst Circuits (for the latter see NMA/13)


Sussex Meetings


Beckley 1801-2, 1811-15


Bodiams 1774-1780


Brede 1810-1815


Dallington 1814


Ewhurst (Green) 1774-1815


Guestling 1811-1815 ('given up')


Guldeford & Iden 1815


Hurst Green 1808-1815


Mountfield 1810-1815


Northiam (Street) 1774-81, 1792-1815


Peasmarsh 1777-84, 1795-1815


Robertsbridge 1774-91, 1810-15


Rotherfield 1794-1802


Rye 1774-1815


Sedlescombe 1813-1815


Staple Cross 1788-1815


Tanhouse (Northiam) 1810-1815


Ticehurst 1810-1815


Wadhurst 1792-6, 1810-15


Westfield 1811-1815


Winchelsea 1774-1815


Kent Meetings


Aldington 1807


Appledore 1810-1815


Benenden (Street) 1801-1815


Biddenden 1804-1815


Borough Green 1774-1781


Brenzett 1815


Chart 1774-5, 1810-11


Chart Sutton 1780-1784


Cranbrook 1774-1784


Crockham Hill 1776


Crouch 1801-1802


Dartford 1802


East End 1812-1815


East Malling 1783-1790


East Sutton 1776-1788


(High) Halden 1791-1815


Ham Street 1794-1815


Hawkhurst 1812-1815


Hook Green 1801-1802


Knockholt 1786-1802


Leybourne 1779-1782


Maidstone 1795-1802


Malling 1801-1802


Mersham 1808-1815


Milkhouse 1807-1815


Newbounds 1774-1777


Otford (earlier see Shoreham) 1801-1802


Peckham 1801-1802


Plaxtol 1782-1796


Rolvenden 1774, 1810-1815


Ruckinge 1793-1815


Sandhurst 1805-1815


Sevenoaks 1774-1802


Sevenoaks Weald 1801-1802


Shadoxhurst 1812-1815


Shoreham 1774-1802


Southborough 1779-1802


Staplehurst 1774-1793


Tenterden 1793-1815


Tonbridge 1802


Warehorn 1779-1793


Westerham 1779-1780


Wittersham 1801-1815


Woodchurch 1774-1815


Military Meetings


N. York Militia


(Rye & Winchelsea) 1808


50th Regiment 1810

Have you found an error with this catalogue description?

Help with your research