See The Loch Ness Story by Nicholas Witchell (Penguin 1975). A draft of Scott's foreword to the 1982 edition of this book is at E.184.
Administrative / biographical background:
The Bureau was established in December 1961 by Scott, David James MP, Richard Fitter and author Constance Whyte to investigate the possibility of the existence of a large unknown animal in Loch Ness, the so-called 'Loch Ness Monster'. The four directors were later joined by Norman Collins of the television company ATV.
Scott became interested in the mystery after reading Constance Whyte's book The Loch Ness Monster. More than a Legend (H. Hamilton 1957). The Bureau organised camera watches on the loch and gathered data on sightings and other evidence. It was wound up in 1977, having ultimately failed to discover any substantial evidence for or against the existence of the 'monster'. Scott, however, maintained an interest in the progress of subsequent investigations and was a Patron of the Loch Ness and Morar Project.
Most of the papers relate to the work of the Bureau; included are letters reporting sightings of the 'monster' and correspondence with directors of the Bureau, scientists and other interested parties. A significant group of papers documents Scott's involvement in the debate over the 'Rines photographs' in 1975 and the subsequent attempt to give a scientific name to the 'monster'. There is also material relating to later investigations and evidence, including the Loch Ness and Morar Project.
Have you found an error with this catalogue description? Let us know