The records of the Mission reflect all these activities, and the ad hoc development of the Mission as it acquired new properties and extended its functions. While there is no real divison within the records, they have been arranged in seven sections. Section A contains records of the Circuit itself eg Quarterly Meetings and Accounts. Section B consists of records of the central administration of the social work side of the Mission. This includes records of the Trustees which held the Mission's property; the Executive Committee which had overall control of the Missions activities; financial records referring to the Mission as a whole; and records of staff.
Section C contains the records of the Working Lad's Institute, including records from before its take over by Revd Jackson in 1897, and records of its later developments, Whitechapel House Tulse Hill, and Whitechapel House Maple Place. There is a particularly fine collection of photographs of boys at the WLI in the 1930s.
The records of Brunswick Hall and the Night Shelter have been arranged in Section D. They include some fascinating accounts of life as a down and out in London in 1926 written by men at the shelter. Records of the Holiday Homes have been classed as Section E, and records of Windyridge Hostel as Section F. Section G consists of records of other stations brought by Revd Jackson to Whitechapel.
The Primitive Methodists used the term station where Wesleyan Methodists would use Circuit.
WLI = Working Lads' Institute and Home
LCC = London County Council
ILEA = Inner London Education Authority