Deans of Gloucester

This record is held by Gloucestershire Archives

Details of GDR/APPENDIX 7
Reference: GDR/APPENDIX 7
Title: Deans of Gloucester

William Jennings 1541


John Man 1565 (died 1568)


Thomas Cowper (Cooper, Couper) 1569


Laurence Humphrey (Humfrey) 1570


Anthony Rudd 1584


Lewis Griffith 1594


Thomas Morton 1607


Richard Field 1609


William Laud 1616


Richard Senhouse 1621


Thomas Winniffe 1624


George Warburton 1631


Accepted Frewen 1631


William Brough 1644


Thomas Vyner 1671


Robert Frampton 1673 (later Bishop)


Thomas Marshall 1681


William Jane 1685


Knightly Chetwood 1707


John Waugh 1720


John Frankland 1723


Peter Allix 1729


Daniel Newcombe 1730


Josiah Tucker 1758 (died 1799)


John Luxmoore 1800 (resigned 1807)


John Plumptre 1808


Hon. Edward Rice 1825


Henry Law 1862 (died 1884)


Edward Henry Bickersteth 1885


Henry Montagu Butler 1885


Henry Donald Maurice Spence (-Jones) Spence-Jones from 1904, when he assumed his wife's surname and arms, in accordance with the provisions of a family will. 1886


Henry Gee 1917


Harold Costley-White 1938


Seiriol John Arthur Evans 1953

Held by: Gloucestershire Archives, not available at The National Archives
Language: English
Publication note:

For biographical notes to 1808 see T. D. Fosbrooke, An Original History of the City of Gloucester (1819), pp. 105-110.

Sharing will require cookies. Show details


Found an error?

If you find an error with this record description let us know

Fields marked with * are mandatory.

Your details

If you provide contact details, we will be in touch about your request within 10 working days.