Catalogue description Colonial Office Honours List, Birthday 1936: List by country of honours and names. Lists...

Ordering and viewing options

This record has not been digitised and cannot be downloaded.

You can order records in advance to be ready for you when you visit Kew. You will need a reader's ticket to do this. Or, you can request a quotation for a copy to be sent to you.

Details of CO 448/45/10
Reference: CO 448/45/10

Colonial Office Honours List, Birthday 1936: List by country of honours and names. Lists of suggested names, and accepted names:

Order of St Michael and St George, for KCMG:

  • Sir Selwyn Macgregor Grier, CMG; Governor, Windward Islands.

For CMG:

  • David Henry Elias, Esq, MC; General Manager, Federated Malay States.
  • Harold Hignell, Esq; Colonial Administrative Service (CAS), Senior Provincial Commissioner, Tanganyika Territory.
  • Harold James Huxham, Esq; CAS, Financial Secretary, Ceylon.
  • William Joseph Johnson, Esq, OBE; Treasurer, Palestine.
  • Lieutenant Colonel Morice Challoner Lake, Political Secretary, Aden.
  • George Ernest London, Esq; CAS, Colonial Secretary, Gold Coast.
  • Arthur Innes Mayhew, Esq, CIE; Joint Secretary and Member of the Advisory Committee on Education in the Colonies.
  • Henry Harold Scott, MD, FRCP; Director of the Bureau of Hygiene and Tropical Diseases.
  • Edwin Taylor, Esq; Treasurer, Hong Kong.
  • Hugh Robert E E Welby, Esq; CAS, Provincial Commissioner, First Grade, Kenya.

Imperial Service Order (ISO):

  • Frank Edward Balmer, Esq; lately Chief Accountant, Posts and Telegrams Department, Kenya, Uganda and Tanganyika Territory.
  • Evan Browne Bynoe, Esq; Provost Marshal and Sergeant at Arms, Barbados.
  • Pedro St Matthew Daniel, Esq; lately Senior Registrar, Judicial Department, Nigeria.
  • Moor Mohamed Hashim bin Mohamed Dali; lately Assistant Economic and Education Officer, Cooperative Department, Federated Malay States.
  • Beverley Burnley Littlepage, Esq; lately Postmaster General, Trinidad.
  • Melvin Warren B Wright, Esq; lately Office Assistant, Public Works Department, Sierra Leone.

For Knight Bachelor:

  • John Bagnall, Esq; Straits Settlements.
  • Panayiotis Loizou Cacoyannis, Esq; Cyprus.
  • Lieutenant Colonel John Calderwood Strathearn, CBE; Warden and Chief Surgeon of the St John of Jerusalem Ophthalmic Hospital. Jerusalem and Honorary Consulting Ophthalmic Surgeon to the Government of Palestine.
  • Edmund Oswald Teale, Esq, DSc, FGS, M Inst MM. Mining Consultant to the Government of the Tanganyika Territory.
  • Arthur Frederick Clarence Webber, Esq; Colonial Legal Service, Chief Justice, Sierra Leone.

Order of the British Empire (Military Division), for CBE:

  • Lieutenant Colonel Percy John Parsons, ED; Officer Commanding, Ceylon Garrison Artillery.

(Military Division), for OBE:

  • Major (local Lieutenant Colonel) Charles Vere Bennett; Officer Commanding, Somaliland Camel Corps, King's African Rifles.
  • Captain William Tysoe, DSO, MC; Northern Rhodesia Regiment.

(Military Division), for MBE:

  • Lieutenant Douglas Foster Grierson; Perak Battalion, Federated Malay States.
  • Lieutenant (local Captain) Walter Robert Haymes; Pay and Quartermaster, Somaliland Camel Corps, King's African Rifles.
  • Captain Seng Tee tan; Company Commander, Malacca Volunteer Corps, Straits Settlements Volunteer Force.

(Civil Division), for CBE:

  • George Preston Bradney, Esq; lately Auditor for the Straits Settlements and the Federated Malay States.
  • Bertie Harry M Easter, Esq, MBE, BA; Director of Education, Jamaica.
  • John Campbell Fisher, Esq, OBE; Deputy Director of Colonial Audit.
  • Sidney Howard Grantham, Esq; Deputy Inspector-General of Police, Nigeria.
  • Philip Douglas Oakley, Esq, MRCS, LRCP; Colonial Medical Service, Director of Medical and Sanitary Services, Sierra Leone.
  • Evan David Reynolds, Esq; Uganda Protectorate.

(Civil Division), for Honorary CBE:

  • Meir Dizengoff, Esq, OBE; Palestine.
  • Usumanu, Emir of Gwandu, Nigeria.

(Civil Division), for OBE:

  • Nana Ayirebi Acquah III, Omanhene of Wnneba, Gold Coast.
  • Eldred Curwen Braithwaite, Esq, MB, FRCS; Colonial Medical Service, Specialist, Nigeria.
  • Geoffrey Fletcher Clay, Esq, MC, BSc; Colonial Agricultural Service, Deputy Director of Agriculture, Uganda Protectorate.
  • Major John Cormack Craig, DSO, M Inst CE; Director of Public Works, British Guiana.
  • Major Joseph Turner Dew, MBE, VD; Leeward Islands.
  • Major Hammettt Holland B Edwards, MRCVS; Colonial Veterinary Service, deputy Director of Animal Husbandry and Chief Veterinary Officer, Kenya.
  • Wilfred Jerome Farrell, Esq, MC, MA; Deputy Director of Education, Palestine.
  • Professor Robert Vistor Galea, Rector of Malta University.
  • Professor John Lewis Gatt, Director of Public Works, Malta.
  • Ernest Wilfred Head, Esq; lately General Manager of the Government Railway, Ceylon.
  • John Rooke Johnston, Esq; CAS, District Officer, Tanganyika Territory.
  • Frank Harold Lowe, Esq; Northern Rhodesia.
  • George Henry Masson, Esq, MD, FRCP; Medical Officer of Health, Port of Spain, Trinidad.
  • Horace Walter Raper, Esq; Straits Settlements.
  • William Johnson Thornhill, Esq, M Inst CE; lately Director of Public Works, Ceylon.
  • Charles Gordon Timms, Esq, MC, LRCP; Colonial Medical Service, Medical Officer, Somaliland Protectorate.
  • Gilbert Cochrane Wainwright, Esq; Jamaica.
  • Wilfrid Wise, Esq, BSc, AMICE, Director of Public Works, Fiji.

(Civil Division), for Honorary OBE:

  • Tewfik Bey Sinnu; President of the Court of Appeal, Trans-Jordan.
  • The Reverend Mother Tarcisius; for services to Education in the Straits Settlements.

(Civil Division), for MBE:

  • Ahmed Alhadi, Esq; Sierra Leone.
  • Miss Ruth Alice Bugot; Uganda Protectorate.
  • Manser William Bartlett, Esq; Nyasaland Protectorate.
  • Miss Henriette Bauman, Kenya.
  • Miss Emma Melicent P Branch; Leeward Islands.
  • Arthur Theodore Culwick, Esq; Tanganyika Territory.
  • Quirino Bonifacio de Freitas, Esq, MRCS, LRCP; British Guiana.
  • Mrs Hilda Fowke, DSc. Ceylon.
  • Miss Jane Ingham Frith; Bermuda.
  • Eugene Gregoire, Esq; Mauritius.
  • Ernest Charles Harvey, Esq; Palestine.
  • Miss Dorothy Charles Hutson, Barbados.
  • Robert Jones, Esq; Oyo Province, Nigeria.
  • Arthur James Keevill, Esq, MB; Tanganyika Territory.
  • Gerald Percival Keuneman, Esq; Ceylon.
  • Mrs Laura Hermione Longden; Uganda Protectorate.
  • Miss Elizabeth McMurtrie; Kenya
  • David McMillan McNair, Esq; Gold Coast.
  • Robert Key Masson, Esq; British Honduras.
  • Arthur Podmore Oakes, Esq, MM; Somaliland Protectorate.
  • Samuel Herbert Pearse, Esq; Nigeria.
  • William George Peasley, Esq; Palestine.
  • Miss Kathleen Wanlass Storrier; Nigeria.
  • Frank Edward Toms, Esq; Tanganyika Territory.
  • John Frederick G Troughton, Esq; Kenya.
  • Thomas George Westall, Esq; Windward Islands.

For Honorary MBE:

  • The Reverend father Auguste Brochard, Windward Islands.
  • Joao Franscisco L Gracias, Esq; Kenya and Uganda.
  • Hilmi Saleh Bey Husseine, Palestine.
  • The Very Reverend Father James John M Minderop; Uganda Protectorate.
  • Haj Nimr Effendi Sabia; Palestine.
  • Avinoam Yellin, Esq, MA; Palestine.

Date: 1936
Held by: The National Archives, Kew
Former reference in its original department: 26081/1936
Legal status: Public Record(s)
Closure status: Open Document, Open Description

Have you found an error with this catalogue description?

Help with your research