In 1542, 6th Nov., Methe was divided into two shires.

This record is held by Lambeth Palace Library

Details of
Title: In 1542, 6th Nov., Methe was divided into two shires.

The baronies of Methe:--


Duleeke, Seryne, Slane, Murgallen, Navan, Keules.


The half barony of four--Moyferraghe, Deese, Rathonthe, Donboyne--containing the parishes of Killalow, Demore, Clone, Moylaghe, Logherne, Old Castle, Luin.


Westmethe made a county.


The baronies of Westmethe:--


Rathconiete, or the Dalton's country; Rossaughe, or the De La Mares' country, anciently called Moyurackeye, Fercullaghe, or the Tirrells' country; Kilkenny West, or the Dillons' country, anciently called Maghirquirke, containing the parishes of Kilkenny, Dromvran, Bonowne, Ovghvalle, Artenecrane, Alone, Brawny, Jurin.


Delvin, Maynshell, Magheritierran, Corkery, Ferbille, Moygnoise.


The half barony of [four] and a little country called Movlagaghe, containing the parishes of St, Feighers, Kilpatricke, Mayne, Beallaghilla, Lickela, Fogeran, Hilton.



Held by: Lambeth Palace Library, not available at The National Archives
Former reference in its original department: MS 613, p. 52a
Language: English
Physical description: 1 Page.
Unpublished finding aids:

Calendar of the Carew Manuscripts preserved in the Archiepiscopal Library at Lambeth, ed. J. S. Brewer & W. Bullen (6 vols., 1867-73), vol. V, document 236.

Sharing will require cookies. Show details


Found an error?

If you find an error with this record description let us know

Fields marked with * are mandatory.

Your details

If you provide contact details, we will be in touch about your request within 10 working days.