Forfeited Estates Commission: Books

Forfeited Estates Commission: Books

This series includes minute books of the Commissioners of the Forfeited Estates, containing minutes and memoranda of proceedings in London, Newcastle upon Tyne and Preston, 1716 to 1726; and rough minute books, 1716 to 1724.

The series also includes registers of claims against the several estates, Nos. 1-1718, containing entries in full of the original claims in FEC 1, and fully indexed, 1716 to 1719; decree books of the commissioners on the claims of various parties upon estates forfeited, 1718 to 1721, with index; register of appeals against decrees of the commissioners, the petitions, numbered 1-22, being entered in full, 1718 to 1721

Also included are registers of the estates given to superstitious uses describing the contents and value thereof, arranged under counties; entry book of informations respecting lands given to superstitious uses, 1716; registers of real estates; reports and decrees of the commissioners, 1716 to 1723; register of claims for losses at Preston, Nos. 1-226, with entries of the claims in full, 1718 to 1722; and entry books of precepts, 1716 to 1723.

Held by:
The National Archives, Kew
Legal status:
Public Record
Physical description:
126 volume(s)

Found an error? Suggest a correction to help improve our descriptions.

Suggest a correction for this record

Fields marked with * are mandatory.

Your details

If you provide your details, we will contact you within 10 working days if we cannot act on your suggestion

User Tags

Users have not yet tagged this record

  • You need to sign in to tag records. If you don't have an account please register.

User Collaboration

Use the form below to include your knowledge of this record. If your description includes any citable references, please add these to the "Citable References?" field on the right, remebering to seperate each reference with a comma, for example (FO 176/1/1, FO 178/2/1, and so on...)

Citable References?


Related research guides